top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddy G

Paris actually was not bad

Paris was the last stop on my trip, and it was not as bad as I thought it was! One of my friends spoke french so she handled most of the communicating for us; I do think you should know some french in order to get around places. We used the metro a lot in paris and it was easy like all the metros, but instead of a card or paying with a cashless card you have to either have a metro card (which isn't really worth it unless you are there for a week or more) or you have to buy a one time ticket for 1.10 each time. Not all stations have a ticket machine though, but oftentimes stations have more than one entrance so if there is not a machine in the one you are at, try the entrance across the street that leads to the same stop. We stayed in an airbnb with a view of the Eifel tower; this airbnb was so tiny though! We had a lot of fun and enjoyed the french food; we did not experience any riots or anything while there which was awesome! The food was really good, and I think I am probably the first person who has been to paris and left with an improved opinion of paris. I would not go back to paris again though; its not really my scene even though it was lovely. I really wanted to go to Bayeux, but we couldnt find a way to get from there back to england in time. We took a bus from Paris to France which was interesting; the french countryside was really nice but I was so burnt out I slept most of the way. We did have to get out and go through border control at Calais as well as put all of our stuff through metal detectors, then the bus drove on a ferry and let us off and we got to sit outside on the ferry and watch the coastline. We also got to get some food which was really nice. It was amazing to see the cliffs of Dover growing bigger and bigger as we kept going; and the bus driver was nice enough to let my friends and I off at Dover instead of London; they do not always do that; what we did was wait until we were through border patrol and then my (pretty) friend who speaks french asked the bus driver in french. Whatever the case, it worked and saved us 3 extra hours of traveling. We then took a train from Dover to Canterbury, and we were done!









5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page