top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddy G

Granada!

After we were done with Rome, We flew from Rome to Madrid then took a smaller plane to Granada. The Hostel we stayed at in Granada was awesome; they had free walking tours around the city every day that ended with us climbing a lot of stairs to watch the sun set over the mountains around Granada. They also made dinner for us; which while we were there was Tacos, Paella, and a Poke Bowl. I happened to get the sniffles while we were in Granada, but getting their version of Tylenol (Paracetamol) was really easy; there were pharmacies everywhere and I walked into one and asked the pharmacist there for 'medicine for a fever' and she gave me a box. It was 4$ though, so is their healthcare really free? Jokes aside, it was nice and fast which I loved; There were orange trees all over the town but the oranges are not that great. I walked to the Bull Ring but did not go inside; it would be fun to see a fight in there! I also went to the Cathedral there which was beautiful! A lot of places had a card limit; like could only take cards if the purchase was 5 euros or more; so I do recommend carrying some cash. Granada was hotter than Rome which makes sense because it is more southern. If you do the exact trip I did and you want to swim in the Mediterranean, try to do this while you are in Rome because Rome is closer to the sea than Granada is; my friends went to swim in the sea while we were in Granada and it was a 2 hour long bus ride that was not a direct route. I wished I could have stayed longer in Granada; but we took a train from Granada back to Madrid which was a REALLY comfy train that I booked on trainline (Seriously, 100% recommend Trainline.) We passed a lot of towns on the way and one town was so pretty; all the buildings were white and were pressed against the side of a hill/mountain and there was a castle on top of the mountain. It was gorgeous. Then we located the Madrid underground and this system was different than london and Rome; instead of paying by your contactless card; you had to go to a ticket booth and pay for a one time journey and pay for a metro card. You can only pay with the madrid metro card to get on the underground which is pretty silly; the point is dont look silly trying to hold your card up to the scanner to open the doors; they will not open. Once again, airport security was really; easy; what was funny here is that I forgot to empty my water bottle and the security guard gave it back and said it was okay, I just had to drink it and get back in line. They had no trash cans or anywhere to empty liquids so I had to down a bottle of water really fast and got the hiccups. Moral is not to do that; just triple check all your liquids are where they should be. Everyone was really nice in Security too :)










3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page